Ben Tre City is formed

On August 11, 2009, the Central Government signed the Resolution No 34/NQ-CP to form Ben Tre City as a capital city of Ben Tre province. The newly formed city has a natural land area of 6,742.11 ha, a population of 143,639, and is composed of 16 smaller administrative units including 10 urban wards (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, Phu Khuong and Phu Tan) and 6 outskirts communes (Son Dong, Binh Phu, Phu Hung, Nhon Thanh, Phu Nhuan and My Thanh An). The new city is situated on the Ham Luong and Ben Tre rivers, bordering Chau Thanh District to the North, Giong Trom District to the South and facing the Ham Luong River on the West side.

Before it is decided to be the province's capital city, Ben Tre has shown great efforts in economic and social development. Its economy has been growing stably in recent years, at 14% annually. Trading and services play bigger part (58.2%) in the general GDP pie, while industry and small production grab up to 37.76%. Its GDP per capita as of 2008 is VND27.46 million; poverty rate standing at as low as 2%.

Results from infrastructural investments have created clear progress that helps put on a better-looking new face of Ben Tre City. Economic and cultural projects are underway and will serve for higher living standards, materially and spiritually, for Ben Tre people.

The province's People's Committee is planning a ceremony to announce the Central Government Resolution No 34 on September 2, 2009  - the National Independence Day.

Translated by An Chau

Written by: